IV’E GOT TOMBSTONE IN MY MATTRESS (POETRY W/ AUDIO)

https://soundcloud.com/mentalnotes-1/TOMBSTONE IN MY MATTRESS-on-monday-1

I got Tombstones in my Mattress 

Waiting for the next certain death

To join this grave site of men and women I have yet met

I deem it over before it begins

And I mourn these relationships

Over

And over again

I got Tombstones in my Mattress

And I practice pretending they aren’t their

Pot holes and traps for all who enter these tomb filled snares

I got ash cans and grey post

That line the belly of this seam

I got construction going on

In the trinkets of my dreams

 

In the pit of my Mattress

I call it the dead zone

There building a fortress

And fences

Calling it their home

And they aint even paying rent

I evicted two tenants

And  could care less where they went

 

I’ve got Tombstones in my Mattress

And I’m prepared to burn this dwelling place

Can’t sleep at night

Without these men staring in my face

See these tombstone have been accumulated for over twenty long  years

And there comfortable in my bed

Playing spade and swallowing down imported beers

See, I’m not sad

Depressed

Or angry

I just want these men gone

They’ve been sleeping in my bed with me for twenty years too long

I got diamonds hidden in these dirt filled tombs

Being smothered by dandelions and oversized poisoned mushrooms

My bed has become crowded

And the only person I’m angry at is me

Because I have allowed these men to literally enslave me

I got souls that I desperately need to set free

I keep these memories alive and I hate the reflection I see

I got construction workers knocking walls down building rooms to be filled

While I’m shoveling dirt working hard to empty this dirt filled mill

Gatekeepers come from nowhere, hired in this dark ground of doom

I’ve invited men in to fill these empty tombs

I cannot stand being cramped up in my own bed

I demised a portal

To people who has long time been dead

They are decomposed

It’s God awful that there locked in a trench

I’m not sure how much longer I can tolerate this awful stench

Every tombstone has a different face

And a different name

But they’re not much different at all

Really their all the same

There was mark who sexed me

And Todd who rejected me

There was Troy that used me

And Nyla who soothed me

And him who raped me

And daddy who hates me, the one who shaped me

Demetrius escaped me

The one who beat me and the one who cheated on me

The one I slept with in the name of love

And the one I kept around as company

Just because

How can I forget the one who stays trapped in my head

I got all these people living in my bed

So excuse me if my thoughts are on a constant blink

It’s been a long time since I got a good night’s sleep

I am on the brink of

Some evictions

10 comments

    1. i COULD TOTALLY GO ON AND ON AND ON TILL THE BREAK OF DAWN,,,LOL I HAVE THOUGHT OF REVISING, I STLL HAVE A PAGE AND A HALF I COULDNT FIT IN. I MAY MAKE IT A SHORT READ 4 PARTS, WE’LL SEE. THANKS FOR READING IT (:

      1. I KNOW that the spoken word added SO much to this peice. I just wanted it to keep going.
        You really inspire me to “get on the mic”. It’s something very out of range for me…I’ve never been a very good public speaker, but I read fantastic aloud. Combining that with something that comes so natural!
        I read so many poems each day that would be exponentially moving, if others could hear it the way that I read it, in my head.
        Does that make sense? Am I rambling? Too much coffee, perhaps this morning.

      2. I completely understand, get your behing on soundcloud.com today now you got coffee in you, do it NOW MY SISTA! I want to hear your poetry read, it is so much different after it is heard. READY, SET, GO! They simply want email and a password, oh a user name and WHALLA! You get 2 entire hours for free, uploading is easy! So by tommorow you should have a piece recorded (: cant wait, im excited (:

    1. THANK YOU, YEA I STILL HAVE ONE TOO MANY THINGS THAT STILL HAUNT MY MEMORIES, BUT THROUGH THIS POEM IT HELPED ME EVICT AT LEAST A FEW. THANK GOD FOR THE GIFT OF WRITING.

Leave a Reply

