MY MELANIN (POETRY W/AUDIO)

https://soundcloud.com/mentalnotes-1/my-melanin

My skin begins telling me things

Stories

Only my ancestors were qualified to tell

Living in such hell

But

It’s my Melanin

That propels me into my destiny

And validates the rest of me

And when the kids used to tease me

About my big nose with big hips and wide lips

And gave me that look staring straight at my titts

I knew it was because of the Melanin

That lay deep underneath my skin

So I would run home

And wrap a towel over my head

With a rubber band at the nap

And pretend to be white

See, I had to fight to believe what I know to be true today

And only age matured me

And my grandmamma adored me

And my skin

I was perplexed by this darkness that

Stared at me in the mirror

That stared at me in the schools

That stared at me on the streets

And taunted me

Even while I was asleep

Smiles behind hidden hate they constantly berate my beauty

My superiority is in my Melanin

Shut up in my skeleton

Is where my power lies

And I will never be so ignorant to hide my beauty

So I tell every little black girl

You are a queen

And never be afraid to be seen

I was my Melanin that pushed me into darkness

And now I understand

That it is my Melanin that propels me into greatness

I can’t hate this

This skin that’s so beautiful

And shines when the sun hits it

It’s my Melanin that perplexes them

I realize

That I love

My skin

NO MATTER  IF YOU ARE PURPLE OR GREEN, LOVE YOUR SKIN (:

19 comments

  1. I wonder about the whole dark/light discourse in European languages; like in London (where I’m from originally) we say: “That is well dark” meaning nasty, evil or twisted.
    In Star Wars (e.g.) we have ‘the dark side’, we have this association between the night we are afraid of and blackness.
    Black is the unknown, the unseen; white (in this discourse) stands for clarity and openness.
    I recently came across a post on freethoughtkampala’s facebook page where they discussed the condition whereby “every word that comes from the white man’s lips is taken as gospel”. That’s an exaggeration but not far from the truth here in Uganda. Even though Uganda was not properly colonised (it was a protectorate, it still has its ancient kingdoms) the missionaries, administrators, merchants and teachers presented themselves, and were used by locals, as arbiters of the Truth. Shining white clarity…

    I’m rambling, its very early in the morning.
    I like your poem. I read it aloud a couple of times and enjoyed the patterning, tried to discern the meaning, but it was too dark… 😉
    Nice one. Am going to dip into a few more…

    1. THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT, THIS SPOKEN WORD IS ABOUT ME AND HOW I FELT AS A CHILD. DARK IS BEAUTIFUL EVIL IS BAD. I SUPPOSE I WOULD THINK AS YOU THINK IF I LIVED IN UGANDA. A LOT HAS HAPPENED OVER THEIR. THIS IS NOT ABOUT WHITE OR BLACK GOOD OR EVIL THIS IS ABOUT HOW I FELT ABOUT MY SKIN AND MY MATURED APPRECIATION FOR MY SKIN AND MY HERITAGE.
      I APPRECIATE MY ASS AND TITTS AND WIDE LIPS (: NO INJECTIONS OR MAKE UP FOR ME AND THAT IS NOT TO SPEAK BADLY ABOUT THE BLACK AND WHITE WOMEN WHO WEAR MAKE UP AND GET INJECTIONS. I MAY START SAGGING WHEN I’M 60 AND HAVE TO GET SOME FORM OF COSMETICS (:
      I LOVE MYSELF AND MY SKIN (:

      1. Awesome, I think I had a total of 9 awards to give out and I have two posts left to work on. You have at least one other award coming, though I think maybe two, I can’t even remember anymore it’s been a lot of work. No matter what you deserve them!

  2. Loved this one, for all,.. As beautiful as the colours of the night, the shadows of the light, the places of oceans deep, where all the beautiful creatures of life, they wake to be…

      1. SWEETIE LIFE GOT REAL ON ME AND I WAS FORCED TO TAKE A BREAK. I WAS POSESSED WITH THE RELEASE OF MY NEWEST BOOK MENTAL NOTES ll “GREY AREAS” AND JUST DECIEDED TO RELAX MY MIND FOR A BRIEF TIME. SOMETIMES I GO TO DEEP FOR TOO LONG WITH MY WRITING FORCING ME TO REMEMBER THINGS I WISH TO FORGET. REST ASURE THE BREAK IS ALMOST OVER (:

        AWFULLY NICE THAT YOU NOTICED ME GONE, YOU MADE MY DAY (:

Leave a Reply

