EXILED (POETRY)

EXILED

I have no refuge from racism

My ancestors’ only escape was church and fire baptism

This human race is so callous

With their deliberate ignorance

Nana still praying to God for her mastas deliverance

YES SA MASA…NO SA MASA

Such tainted word

Kill that nigger were the words that I heard

Daddy was angry, cause his dreams were deemed dead

Kumbaya was our national anthem with rivers of tortured silence instead

Mamma had a baby but he didn’t look like me

He had a stream of long hair and green eyes you could clearly see

The white race left a trail of bastards never claiming one

I heard the church folks whispering

That’s mastas son

Never in their bed, they raped us on patches of earth and vacant fields instead

Lynching

Disempowerment

Physically

And psychologically enslaved

It was Martin

Harriett Tubman

Rosa Parks

And many more who were brave

They would stand us up

Spin us around

And someone in the crowd would yell

I’ll take four

And the others were useless like confederate coins after the war

There are things in this world that used to feel like a slap in the face

I WAS YOUNG

I CONFORMED WITH THE WORLD ABOUT RACE

And in the Old Testament, God separated tribes and didn’t want us marrying outside our race

It took some years but interracial marriage didn’t deserve such a precious emotion that went to waste

Now listen… 

There are a few things I just got to say

One being I was EXTREMLY ANGRY when OJ got away

Karma’s a bitch

That’s why his dumb ass sitting in jail right now today

However that statement was strong,

Dramatic

And unquestionably clear

The white race was defeated at least that’s how it would appear

Someone said they would give up their citizenship to see OJ convicted

At least that’s how they kicked it

There would have been no trial of the century if OJ’s victim was black

And ain’t no arguing that

Now they wouldn’t be so quick to say

Because black women are killed every day

 Affirmative action a camouflage for racism

Now that’s a bone I’ll throw back

To get hired just because you’re black

How racist is that?

I give thanks to God every day

For living in the era that allows me to say whatever I want to say

I’m black.

I am proud.

And I am bold

AND IF THERE IS A STORY TO TELL

BEST BELIEVE IT WILL BE TOLD

 

 

 

                      Thank you, Ignorance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

