DAMAGED (POETRY)

You say you tried while I cried.

The guilt was eating you alive.

Because it was me you deprived and still I rise.

Baby, my guns were down even when you weren’t around.

You wanted the streets more than you wanted me.

And whenever you were around I had to beg and plead.

It’s crazy because you knew my need.

You watched my heart bleed and deprived me of my seed.

I waited and waited but a sista’s got needs.

Your mental crown turned upside down every time you walked out that door.

And I’d let you back like I was begging for more.

Walking in our house smelling like a French whore.

But you grabbed hold of me.

Rough like I like it and I got excited and it was hard to fight it.

My passion for you always ran too deep.

But you played me for cheap, thought we were playing for keeps.

As much as I try not to, I smell you when I sleep.

I am done weeping and next time it’s my heart I’ll be keeping.

No matter how much damage you’ve done.

It ain’t never stopped beating!

                                                                    Thank you, Ex.

Leave a Reply

