HE CALLED ME HER (POETRY W/ AUDIO)

Standard

Broken Heart Emo

http://soundcloud.com/mentalnotes-1/he-called-me-her-poetry#play

Her name flew from his mouth and dangled in the air

But she lives in his heart and she will always be their

Her name was inches from his lips

The same ones I just kissed

And I’d be fooling myself

If I said he wouldn’t be missed

I looked in his face

And I could see this was no cold case

Cause he still loved her

My emotions will have me twisted somewhere beyond belief

And have me so out of touch I’ll be hard to reach

Her name

Her name drifted past my cheek

And stood its position for weeks

And I knew she was their

And he knew I knew

I was mopping in a snap shot

And deserving of every emotion I got

Because I knew he was broken

And he knew I knew

Tonight I sat in my class drinking from a half empty glass

And all I could hear was her name

And he and I would never be the same

And I had no one but me to blame

For

My lapse in judgment

My heart is screaming

And bleeding

And needing him

I try to smile

Going about my day

But my mind is miles

And miles

And miles away

Because I love him

He called me her name and I froze

It was her name that told the truth

He is not mines

Please God free me from my insanity

Cause all the pieces are with her

Never in my life had this occurred

That day is a blurr

But what I will never forget

Is that he called me her

I could not pretend

And I dare not give him a chance to do it again

See

Because

He

Is

Not

Mines

13 responses »

  1. That is an unfortunate, yet common event that occurs in the best of our lives. Though, the glass should not be empty, let it be half full, for it was only a sign, that not, he wasn’t yours, rather, you were not his. Far too many times we discredit ourselves due to negative occurrences, and it is in our nature to want to do so, but the truth of the matter is, pain helps us recognize pleasure, as for only hate, can help us know love. Great poem.

  2. It was really great to hear you read this out loud. You have great control and pacing in your poetry and your voice… I’ve nominated you for a couple of blog awards :) Check it out on my page if you want.

  3. This is a beautiful powerful poem. I am an editor on a popular large web site and I have been poet of the year a number of times at a number of places. My point in saying all of that is that I have read a lot of poems, and this is a wonderful piece.

    • WHY THANK YOU(:!! THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES! SAD THIS POEM IS FROM MY OWN EXPIRIENCE BUT HE LEFT ME WITH ONE HELLAVA PIECE, SO SHOUT OUT TO THE JERK AND WE THANK HIM FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL POEM. (:

Leave a Reply

